Virgil Deering Optometric Executive Director of the Year Award


The Virgil Deering Optometric Executive Director award is presented annually by the North Central States Optometric Council to an outstanding state optometric executive director; recognizing the dedicated, capable leadership and support that state optometric associations receive from their executive directors. The award is named in honor of Virgil Deering, long-time Executive Director of the Iowa Optometric Association, and has been presented yearly since 2000 at the AOA Congress. 


Award Recipient History

2017 - Richard Montoya, New Mexico Optometric Association

2016 – David McBride, Nebraska Optometric Association

2015 – Nancy Kopp, North Dakota Optometric Association

2014 – James Sandefur, Optometry Association of Louisiana

2013 – Bryan Markowitz, Georgia Optometric Association

2012 – Peter Theo, Wisconsin Optometric Association

2011 – Saundra Naifeh, Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians

2010 – Wayne Schumacher (posthumously), Oregon Optometric Physicians Association

2009 – Charles Stuckey, Jr., Pennsylvania Optometric Association

2008 – Dan Lex, Wyoming Optometric Association and 

             Mike Jones, American Optometric Association 

2007 – Gary Ellis, Iowa Optometric Association

2006 – Charles Brownlow, OD, Wisconsin Optometric Association

2005 – William Dansby, CAE, Michigan Optometric Association

2004 – Gwenne Hume, Colorado Optometric Association

2003 – Gary Robbins, Kansas Optometric Association

2002 – Mike Horstman, Illinois Optometric Association

2001 – Darlene Eakin, Kentucky Optometric Association

2000 – Betty Valachovic, Arkansas Optometric Association


Contact Us

North Central States Optometric Council

1633 Normandy Court, Suite ALincolnNebraska 68512

Phone:  (402) 476-3852 (402) 476-3852  Email:

Print Print | Sitemap
© North Central States Optometry Council - 1&1 MyWebsite